Vancouver International Centre for Contemporary Asian Art

Panel Discussion with Lisa Steele, Kim Tomczak, and Alvin Luong

Saturday, May 21, 2022, 2 – 3 PM PDT / 5 – 6 PM EDT

Join us online via Zoom for a panel discussion with Lisa Steele, Kim Tomczak, and Alvin Luong on May 21, at 2 PM PDT / 5 PM EDT.

Register HERE.

The panel discussion will focus on Steele and Tomczak’s video The Afternoon Knows what the Morning Never Suspected (2017), a reflection on war, national power, and migration. The panel discussion will be followed by a short Q & A.

The video is currently on view at Centre A, as part of the current exhibition The Living Room, until May 28, 2022.

The film will be available for viewing online until May 21 here.

_

Lisa Steele and Kim Tomczak have collaborated since 1983, producing videotapes, performances, and photo/text works that have been exhibited in festivals, museums, and galleries around the world. Their numerous grants and awards include the Bell Canada prize for excellence in Video Art, a Toronto Arts Award for Media Arts and in 2005, a Governor General’s Award for lifetime achievement in Visual & Media Arts. They are co-founders of Vtape, a Toronto media arts resource centre and are Professors Emeriti at the University of Toronto in the John H. Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape, and Design.

Alvin Luong works with stories of human migration, land, and dialogues from diasporic working class communities to create artworks that reflect upon historical development and its intimate effects on the lives of people. Luong has shown and screened artworks at the Images Festival (Toronto), Boers-Li Gallery (Beijing), Gudskul (Jakarta), and The Polygon Gallery (Vancouver). The artist has held research and resident artist appointments at the Inside-Out Art Museum (Beijing), HB Station Contemporary Art Research Center (Guangzhou), the Art Gallery of Ontario (Toronto), and Gallery TPW (Toronto).


Accessibility: The gallery is wheelchair and walker accessible. If you have specific accessibility needs, please contact us at (604) 683-8326 or [email protected]

Centre A is situated on the unceded territories of the Musqueam, Squamish, and Tsleil-Waututh peoples. We honour, respect, and give thanks to our hosts.